Costa Mesa, CA– Nuru International celebrates the passage of the bipartisan Global Fragility Act of 2019 (GFA), by Representatives Eliot Engel (D-NY), Mike McCaul (R-TX), and many others in the United States House of Representatives as H.R. 2116.

This legislation is a critical step toward solving the issue of state fragility. Several of the key issues addressed are in full alignment with Nuru’s strategy and priorities, including a focus on the Sahel region in Africa.  

Representative Mike McCaul said this at the Africa Hearing:
The Chairman and I introduced the Global Fragility Act, which I think is a very important bill to help stabilize the destabilized continent, particularly when you look at the Sahel which the Department of Defense, as Ms. Lenihan knows very well, the Sahel is going to be the next hot spot. If we can’t do the prevention piece right, then we have to send in the military. I think the Global Fragility Act is a good playbook for the Department of Defense to look at how we can prevent extremism so we don’t have to go in and kill.”

USAID Administrator Marc Green has echoed these sentiments:
“This legislation and the thrust behind is most welcome and we look forward to working with you on it. As we’ve talked about…Nature abhors a vacuum and so does stability and right now there is a vacuum in many ways, particularly in the Sahel region. We need to sharpen our tools and harp our coordination across the interagency to make sure that we deploy them carefully and in a coordinated fashion, and I think you’ve touched upon the right mix, so we look forward to working with you on it. It’s very, very important.”

We at Nuru are encouraged and inspired by this important milestone and will continue to work with our Congressional and NGO partners to pass the Senate bill. Please tell your Senators to support S. 727, the Global Fragility Act.

Thank you to the cosponsors of GFA (H.R. 2116, S.727): Representatives Eliot Engel (D-NY), Mike McCaul (R-TX), Adam Smith (D-WA), Ann Wagner (R-MO), Bill Keating (D-MA), Francis Rooney (R-FL), Ted Lieu (D-CA), Ron Wright (R-TX), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Tom Malinowski (D-NJ), and Senators Christopher Coons (D-DE), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Marco Rubio (R-FL), and Todd Young (R-IN), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Bob Casey (D-PA), John Boozman (R-AR), Ed Markey (D-MA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Cory Gardner (R-CO).